My Top 10 Sci-fi Side-arms

My Top 10 Sci-fi Side-arms

These are designs that fire energy and not bullets, but also picked due to its design


01: Type 2 phaser
Star Trek 1966

I consider this the Swiss army knife of fictional side-arms, Utilized primarily in defensive situations, the phaser type-2 had several applications, from use as a weapon to use as a cutting tool, explosive device, or energy source. Storing considerable energy, most phasers were distinguished by a roughly pistol or gun-type configuration, firing a focused energy discharge in the form of a beam or steady stream. the original design from the TV series has always been a favourite.

01


02: Han Solo’s Blaster
Star Wars 1977

The DL-44 was a powerful, highly modifiable and accurate blaster pistol. It packed a heavy punch compared to other pistols without losing accuracy, which made it a prime choice among many groups and individuals

02


03: Colonial Laser / Blaster
Battlestar Galactica 1978

Standard side-arm for Colonial warriors used by the Twelve Colonies, a very powerful weapon.

03


04: Laser / Blaster
Buck Rogers in the 25th Century 1979

Standard side-arm for Earth Directorate Officers in the 25th Century, there is a larger ungainly one, this I think is nicer looking.

04


05: Flame Gun
Logan’s Run 1976

The Sandman gun is the basic weapon of Deep Sleep operatives (AKA Sandmen), no idea how it works, but does not take bullets, some kind of energy, unlike the version in the book, in fact I like the film version more.

05


06: Stun Gun/ Kill Gun
Space1999 1975

Stun gun carried by authorised Moonbase personnel, when fired, it affects the central nervous system causing slowed heartbeat, respiration and immediate unconsciousness lasting for one hour.Unfortunately, many alien species have proven resistant to the stun setting.

06


07: Blake’s 7 Side-Arm
1978

There is very little known about this, but I remember thinking it looks like a futuristic laser weapon in 1978, more in keeping with a Alien look then something human made like the evil Federation design which are more typical human designs.

07


08: Sentry Laser Pistol.
The Black Hole 1979

This is the the standard side-arm for the sentry robots aboard the research vessel USS Cygnus, I thought it cool at the time.

08


09: The Visitor’s Laser
V (1983-85)

Interesting what appears to be a 2 stage weapon, again next to nothing is known, but I liked the look.

09


10: Rocket Pistol XZ-35
Buck Rogers in the 25th Century (1934)

My original intention was to pick one design from each franchise or universe, but this design I think is the foundation of all that followed and influenced not only the 1980s Buck Rogers in the 25th Century, but the look George Lucas wanted for Star Wars 1977, the 1934 Buck Rogers also has matter transporters to beam people around from one chamber to another, beating both Outer Limits and Star Trek to the use of this form of transport.

010


 

4 thoughts on “My Top 10 Sci-fi Side-arms

  1. Great list, though I may have bumped the BSG laser to #1. I love those things, extremely powerful and, like Han’s blaster, they gave a nice Old West look with the drop holster. Another of my personal favorites is the V weapon, love those just because they look sweet.

    Like

      • Han’s blaster is awesome too. Really, Sci-Fi weapons in general are cool, I don’t know how you kept your list to only 10. I would have had to include the blaster pistols from Forbidden Planet if I did one. 🙂

        Are you going to do one for rifles too? I can think of a few offhand that are really slick.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Yes I plan rifles too..:)
          I thought about Forbidden Planet laser before the early Buck Rogers.
          When I remembered it and by virtue of being one of the earliest apart from Flash Gordon’s… Sunday morning TV when I was a kid. Flash Gordon, Buck Rogers and King of the Rocketmen or Commander Cody.. Then Star Trek..

          Like

Comments are welcome

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.